How to end an action? Can I close the form?

 

When an action is finished, we advise you don't close (unpublish) the form. Even after an action's time is done, and you're no longer promoting it, your landing page may remain a point of contact. Someone may have followed an old link, or heard that the campaign was successful and looked for it - you don't want them to find a dead end.

If you simply close your form, you lose the opportunity to lead them to a different action or to add them to your supporter base.

Here are some ways you can deal with a finished action:

-> Convert your action to a simple newsletter subscription form

Update the text to provide information about the result of the action. Ask people if they want to leave their email address, so you can let them know about upcoming and ongoing actions.

Be careful: don't delete form fields from your action, hide them instead

Deleting the field deletes all submitted data from this field on this action as well as the field in the form, so the data will no longer be accessible from the webform results.

Instead hide fields that aren't needed any longer - just set them to 'private' and 'not required' in the "Display" tab when editing the form.

-> Make a redirect to an ongoing action

Another good option is to set up a redirect to an ongoing action, or to another location with up to date information about the issue or campaign. For this go to: Manage > Advanced Settings > Site Settings and search for 'redirects'.

Be sure to redirect your supporters to a page where they not only learn about a new action, but also get information about the results of the old one. That's what brought them here and is interesting to them! So use this information to make the new action more engaging.

Once the redirect is set up, you can unpublish the form if you want to - the redirect will still work. This means that if you filter your actions so that you only see 'published' actions, it won't appear. This can be helpful if you have a lot of actions in your Campaignion. 

Filterbypublicationstate.png

You can take an action back into 'draft' state in the advanced options in the content step.

Publishingoptions.png

Have more questions? Submit a request